Hit and Run Attorney In Michigan
Were you or a loved involved in hit and run accident in Michigan?
Are you not sure what to do?
Our expert lawyers can help.
Being hit by a car is hard enough to deal with. Being hit by a driver who runs and leaves the scene of the accident is even worse. If you have been in an accident with a hit and run driver in the state of Michigan, you need the help of an attorney. You need a law firm who cares and is experienced enough to have over 2 decades of practicing law under behind them.
If You are the Victim of a Hit and Run
Running or fleeing an accident scene is a felony in Michigan. If you are the victim in a hit and run accident you need a hard working lawyer by your side to protect your rights. You will be able to file a claim through no-fault insurance benefits. Even if the driver that took off is never found, you do have a way to recover some damages. If you have uninsured motorist insurance through your own no-fault insurance policy you may be able to recover money through that policy. This type of policy can cover you or another relative that lives in your household when in an accident with a hit and run driver that is not identified or located.
Sometimes just filing for benefits is not enough. You need to know all of your rights in order to recover all that you are entitled to after being hit by a driver who left the scene of the accident. If you or a loved one has been injured by a driver who left the scene, call one of our attorneys whose special is Michigan hit and run cases.
If you were walking or riding a bike and hit by a car, your injuries will need immediate medical attention. If the driver of the car that hit you was heartless enough to leave you there instead of calling 911 it may take longer for you to receive that medical attention. Time could make your injuries worse and may cause you to require a longer time to recover from your injuries.
Don’t assume you have to pay for those medical bills on your own. By leaving the scene of the accident, the other driver has committed a crime. You need a lawyer to pursue your rights and to ensure the heartless driver is prosecuted and your rights are protected. Call Goldman and Associates at (248) 588-3333, (586) 268-4200, or (877) 737-8800 to speak to one of our expert Michigan hit and run attorneys at no charge.
If You Have Been Charged with Hit and Run
If you have been charged as a hit and run driver, our criminal lawyers can help with your criminal defense. Being charged with a hit and run is no joke. Penalties and be up to $10,000 in fines and/or 15 years in prison. A charge of hit and run, or fleeing the scene of an accident is very serious. Don’t leave your defense up to just any lawyer. You need a lawyer with years of criminal defense experience to work on your case. You made a mistake when you left the accident scene don’t make another mistake by not hiring the right attorney.
When you are involved in an accident you are required to do certain things before you are free to leave the scene. Never leave the scene of an accident without:
The only times that it is explicitly OK to leave the scene without doing these things is when you are removed by emergency or medical personnel. In this type of scenario, the police or medical personnel will ensure the information needed has been put on record.
If you legitimately do not feel safe at the scene and your life may be in danger if you stay, you may leave, but you must immediately call the police to report the accident and tell them where you are located. If you do not have a phone, stop at the nearest safe place of business and ask them to call the police for you. Make sure you are sure exactly where the accident happened so police can find the scene quickly and check on the health and safety of the other people involved.
Even if you left the scene because you felt your life was in danger, you need to speak with an attorney about what happened. Chances are the police will have lots of questions about why you felt you were in danger and why you left. You want to make sure you protect yourself and can prove you had a legitimate reason to leave the area. If you left the scene of an accident, call one of our attorneys for a free phone conversation. They can help ensure you are not punished for protecting yourself after being involved in a car accident.
You can call one of our expert Michigan hit and run attorneys at (248) 588-3333, (586) 268-4200, or (877) 737-8800